Resources

DICTIONARIES

Merriam-Webster – the standard in book publishing, membership provides more entries and options – merriam-webster.com

Urban Words – slang and unusual phrases – urbandictionary.com

Visuwords – visual dictionary, word associations, concepts – visuwords.com

Etymology – explanation and history of words – etymonline.com

 

RULES & TIPS

The Chicago Manual of Style – book standard in editorial style, for members only – chicagomanualofstyle.org

AP Stylebook – journalism standard in editorial style, for members only – apstylebook.com

Purdue OWL – online writing lab of Perdue University, multiple resources – owl.english.purdue.edu/owl

Grammar Book (The Blue Book of Grammar and Punctuation) – grammarbook.com

Common Errors in English Usage – extensive list – public.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/errors.html

Grammar Girl – English rules and tips made easy – quickanddirtytips.com/grammar-girl

Top Writing Blogs to Check Out in 2017  – wordcounter.net/blog/2016/12/28/102729_top-writing-blogs.html

101 Websites that Pay Writers in 2017 – freelancewritinggigs.com/websites-that-pay-you-to-write

 

INDUSTRY PROFESSIONALS

Steve Laube Agency – guidance for authors and speakers – stevelaube.com

Michael Hyatt – extensive platform and publishing information – michaelhyatt.com

Dr. Dennis Hensley – writing industry advice – tuprofwriting.wordpress.com

Cecil Murphey – extensive encouragement to writers – cecilmurphey.com

Jerry Jenkins – extensive writing and publishing industry information – jerryjenkins.com

Kathy Ide – guidance for writers and editors – kathyide.com

Joan Webb – writing, teaching, coaching – joancwebb.com

Writers-Editors Network – independent writers and editors, contests – writers-editors.com

Christian Editor Connection – connect with editors, includes a valuable resource listing for writers – christianeditor.com

Christian Editor Network LLC – four divisions to equip Christian editors – christianeditornetwork.com

 

CHRISTIAN WRITING

Bible Gateway – the standard for Scripture reference – biblegateway.com

Topical Bible – online search – openbible.info/topics

Blue Letter Bible – reference, study, multiple resources – blueletterbible.org

American Christian Writers – Christian writing groups, courses, Christian Communicator newsletter – regaforder.wordpress.com

BelieversTrust – community of Christian writers, extensive information – believerstrust.org

Faith Writers – community of Christian writers – faithwriters.com

American Christian Fiction Writers – membership, devoted to the craft of Christian fiction – acfw.com

Christian Writers of the West – affiliate of ACFW serving the Phoenix community – christianwritersofthewest.com

 

FREELANCE, BUSINESS, MISC.

Freelancers Union – freelancersunion.org

Arizona Corporation Commission – azcc.gov

GalleyCat – publishing blog – mediabistro.com/galleycat

Writer’s Digest – online and print writing magazine – writersdigest.com

The Writer – online and print writing magazine – writermag.com

Creative Nonfiction ­– online and print nonfiction magazine – creativenonfiction.org

Advanced Fiction Writing – all about fiction – advancedfictionwriting.com

Writing Momentum – clips, classes, info for members – writingmomentum.com

Writers Market – industry news and information – writersmarket.com

WordPress – easiest way to create a professional blog and/or website – wordpress.com

PicMonkey – create free graphics – picmonkey.com

Canva – create free graphic – canva.com

Clearly See Media – web design, consulting, and information – clearlysee.com

Chris Morris, CPA – accounting, bookkeeping, financial guidance – chrismorriscpa.com